Gold: $2459.62  Silver: $30.29  Platinum: $995.64  90% Junk $1 FV: $21.66  Gold/Silver Ratio: 81.20

Dutch Royal Mint

Dutch Royal Mint Logo
Gouden Hoon 1
3991 CX Houten, The Netherlands
+31 (0)30 2910 400

Royal Dutch Mint

Established in 1567, the Netherlands was home to many regional mints with each striking their own currency. In 1806, King Louis Napoleon of The Netherlands, the younger brother of Emperor Napoleon of France, declared the minting, striking and distribution of coins to be consolidated under a single national mint authority. The newly created National Mint was built in Utrecht. During the mid-19th century, the mint was renamed to Rijks Munt. In the early 20th century, the mint was placed under the supervision of the Ministry of Finance and became a state-owned company. During the late 20th century, the company was renamed De Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt (The Royal Dutch Mint) with an award from the Queen.

In 2016 the Royal Dutch Mint was sold to the Belgian Groep Heylen and is now based in Houten, the Netherlands. It was established and previously owned by the Dutch state

Since 2002 the Royal Dutch Mint has been allowed to strike coins for foreign national banks in the euro zone, and occasionally strikes coins for other countries such as Latvia, Guatemala and Honduras. Furthermore, the Dutch Royal Mint produces commemorative coins, coins intended for collectors, medals and royal decorations.

As a trusted partner to central banks, the core business of the Royal Dutch Mint today includes the production of circulating coinage.

Popular Products from Dutch Royal Mint